roland-jupiter.org

The Roland Jupiter Series BBS
It is currently Fri Aug 29, 2014 10:09 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: MIDI kit
PostPosted: Sat Jul 05, 2008 2:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 12:49 pm
Posts: 13
Location: Melbourne
Hi all,

Has anyone tried the following MIDI kit?

http://www.chd-el.cz/index.php?id=403

Looks like it is simple to fit, and doesn't modify things too much.

Cheers,
Tom


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 09, 2008 12:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 1:49 pm
Posts: 27
Location: France
Hi.

Just bought one... need to install it. Rather simple installation (2 solder points) and fits in the jp's connectors.

Less possibilities than the Kenton's...but for minus 300euros.

Cheap way to get midi for the jupee.

I will post here when install's finished and up & running...

Cheers,
Vince.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 13, 2008 1:51 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 12:49 pm
Posts: 13
Location: Melbourne
Thanks Vince - good luck in getting it going.

Looking forward to hearing the results.

Cheers,
Tom


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 20, 2008 5:40 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 4:43 am
Posts: 172
Location: Seattle, WA
Any update on this? I need to dig into my JP-4 soon anyway and would go ahead and do this. I was originally going to do the CV in mod which has been floating around for years, but if the results of the midi conversion are good I might do both of them at the same time.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2008 1:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 12:49 pm
Posts: 13
Location: Melbourne
Hi guys,

I was just reading on a German forum of a number of JP-4 users installing this interface, and all found it easy to install and it worked well. One received a dud unit which was quickly replaced - apparently support is first-rate.

Looks like a winner :-)

Cheers,
Tom


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 30, 2008 12:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 1:49 pm
Posts: 27
Location: France
Sorry guys didn't had the time yet to install it...too much work for me atm.
would like to know which german forum you looked at?
thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 04, 2008 9:34 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 12:49 pm
Posts: 13
Location: Melbourne
Hi Vince,

Great to hear you have too much work :-)

It was at
http://www.sequencer.de/synthesizer/vie ... 5&start=45

Quite a long thread about an interface costing 500 euros!

Cheers,
Tom


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2008 1:43 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 1:49 pm
Posts: 27
Location: France
Yeah i'm working in a plant nursery and the boss was on holiday...so...you can guess what 'lots of work" means... BUT he's back from holidays (the boss lol)...AND I had the time to install the kit 2 days ago.

And the kit is really simple to install. The quality looks good aswell. I made my 2 solder points (U will need a very thin iron), unplugged the cables, plugged the interface card, and replugged the cables. Of course, I drilled a hole for midi in.

Result: fully working midi JP-4! now that IS cool.
Sure, there are less fonctionnalities than on the Kenton's...but... well, it's like 300 euros less. I say that the price tag blows it.

So Tom you are right... It's a winner without a doubt. Didn't had *enough* time to go into settings but I can't see a reason why it shouldn't work (apart the fact that I am quite a dumby sometimes lol)

Cheers,
Vincent.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 13, 2008 11:13 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 12:49 pm
Posts: 13
Location: Melbourne
Thanks Vince for letting us know - it sounds like the best "non-invasive" solution for adding MIDI.

Enjoy your new-found connectivity!

Cheers,
Tom


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 14, 2008 1:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 1:49 pm
Posts: 27
Location: France
oh yes!
allready enjoying this new connectivity...
currently I send some arppegios from my mc-505 and it really blows it (basically, the arppegios with the mc's patches sounds like piss...but now it's >!!!!!!! with the jupee).
I just love tweaking the arp pot in order to alter the sustain... sounds like candy to my ears (but in a VERY rude way lol).

cheers
Vincent


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 07, 2008 7:52 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 4:43 am
Posts: 172
Location: Seattle, WA
I just installed it in my JP4 and it was very simple. As you might guess it works in tandem with the keyboard interface by piggy backing on the voice assigner card where the connections to the keyboard are. The back of the JP4 is particle board, so you can use a wood bore to make the hole rather than a chassis punch.

One draw back of using the keyboard interface is that you're limited to the range of the 4 octave range of the keyboard. If you are using a larger keyboard, notes outside of the transposition range will not trigger.

The factory default midi channel is 12, so be sure to read the user's manual before use.

There are two solder points (+5v & gnd) which need to be made to provide power to the daughter board. They suggest getting these from IC 3 on the voice assigner board. I recommend soldering to the points underneath the board rather than onto the legs of the IC.

Installation takes 10-15 minutes .. really easy and a good price/value.


Attachments:
Library - 2195.jpg
Library - 2195.jpg [ 281.18 KiB | Viewed 6986 times ]
Library - 2193.jpg
Library - 2193.jpg [ 286.4 KiB | Viewed 6986 times ]
File comment: I removed this battery.
Library - 2192.jpg
Library - 2192.jpg [ 404.92 KiB | Viewed 6986 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 07, 2008 8:24 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 8:06 pm
Posts: 99
Location: Wrightwood, CA
Great looking battery.

Nothing like installing a nice new mod into an old, unrestored synth.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 08, 2008 6:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 8:06 pm
Posts: 99
Location: Wrightwood, CA
Yeah, I saw that, but it doesn't change my comment.
It would appear the mod was installed in an otherwise, unrestored synth.
I mean, one would reasonably change out the battery before they swapped the power supply caps, right?
Those caps are filtering the power for the new board and everything else, correct?
Therefore, wouldn't you be adding more load current than the original design specified even before the aged supply caps have been changed?

Could you possibly provide a pic of the new battery?
I'm sure readers would be interested to know the type you installed.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 20, 2008 9:32 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 1:49 pm
Posts: 27
Location: France
Yes readers would be very interested to know
:)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 30, 2008 2:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 12:49 pm
Posts: 13
Location: Melbourne
Hi guys,

I just received the MIDI kit...just can't bring myself to drill a hole just yet!

Cheers,
Tom


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group